Santa Maria de Vallvidrera

Cultural heritage
  • Espais naturals
  • Turisme responsable

Santa Maria de Vallvidrera

Vallvidrera grew up around the rural parish of Santa Maria, in the heart of Collserola. The current building was built in the mid-sixteenth century and is late Gothic, although the foundation of the temple is much earlier: dating from the 10th century. For ten centuries, then, Santa Maria de Vallvidrera has witnessed the life of a town that was annexed to Barcelona in 1921.

The history of Santa Maria

The earliest mention of the founding of the temple is in a document from 987. This refers to the church, which at that time belonged to the Valldoreix parish. In the 13th century, Santa Maria split off and formed an independent parish. In the 16th century the current building was constructed with a single nave and a polygonal apse, flanked by a square bell tower, probably from the same period. The cemetery next door is another unique place: it is one of only two parish cemeteries which are still preserved in Barcelona.

The mountain church

The church has also lent its name to a recreational area surrounded by nature, the area of Santa Maria de Vallvidrera, a very beautiful spot within the natural park where you can walk, eat and enjoy the forest and architectural heritage of this town.

Despite the many communication links that have opened between the city and the old town of Vallvidrera, this still feels like a mountain village, quiet and oblivious to the bustle of the big city.

more

Contact information